I was naught but an addle headed young girl
who knew not a thing beyond what I was told.
I never knew of the abuse in your world.

I knew she yelled, and used harsh words; she unfurled
curses, and epithets off her mad tongue rolled.
I was naught but an addle headed young girl.

No screams did I hear in the night, your blood curls
in the vein as she hurt you body and soul.
I never knew of the abuse in your world.

Then came her lies, off her wicked tongue they hurled:
She said none could see or write you; lies so bold.
I was naught but an addle headed young girl.

She said it was you; you sought emerald and pearl.
I believed every lie her poison lips told.
I never knew of the abuse in your world.

Your words full of truth set my mind in a whirl
for the betrayal I felt; my heart ran cold.
I was naught but an addle headed young girl--
I never knew of the abuse in your world.
